Nova Schin Festival Brazil se začne danes

Nova Schin Festival Brazil se začne danes
October 30, 2006 Klemen Surk

Danes se začenja prvi krog naslednjega ASP tekmovanja – Nova Schin Festival Brazil by Billabong. Tam pa verjetno vsaj na tekmi ne bo novega svetovnega prvaka, ki se utegne udeležiti samo Expression sessiona in odgovoriti na par novinarskih vprašanj.


IMBITUBA, Brazil (Monday, October 30, 2006) – Round One of the Nova Schin Festival presented by Billabong will commence in Imbituba, Brazil at 9:30 this morning.

Two to four foot (half to one and a half metre) waves will present the world’s best surfers with ample opportunity to add progressive aerial surfing to their respective repertoires today.

Newly crowned eight-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) is one of five Foster’s ASP World Tour surfers who will not compete in the Nova Schin Festival. Slater is expected to arrive in Brazil later this week, but he will not surf the main event.

Mark Occhilupo (AUS) and Pancho Sullivan (HAW) have also opted out of their Brazilian berths, both surfers indicating that impending childbirths would hinder their involvement in the Nova Schin Festival. Withdrawing due to injury are Australian Daniel Wills (ankle) and American Tim Reyes (knee).

Filling their spots will be Brazilian alternates Jihad Khodr, Odirlei Coutinho, Pedro Norberto, Bernardo Miranda and Leonardo Neves. The Nova Schin Festival wildcards are Renato Galvao (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA) and Jean da Silva (BRA).

Thirteen of today’s 16 heats will feature a Brazilian surfer.

Logon to to watch it all LIVE!

Round 1 Nova Schin Festival presented by Billabong Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Phil Macdonald (AUS); Nathan Hedge (AUS); Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 2: Taylor Knox (USA); Chris Ward (USA); Yuri Sodre (BRA)
Heat 3: Dean Morrison (AUS); Jake Patterson (AUS); Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 4: Tom Whitaker (AUS) Michael Lowe (AUS); Odirlei Coutinho (BRA)
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA); Luke Stedman (AUS); Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 6: Damien Hobgood (USA); Victor Ribas (BRA); Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS); Greg Emslie (ZAF); Renato Galvao (BRA)
Heat 8: Andy Irons (HAW); Travis Logie (ZAF); Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS); Frederick Pattachia (HAW); Pedro Norberto (BRA)
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS); Adriano de Souza (BRA); Jean da Silva (BRA)
Heat 11: Bruce Irons (HAW); Peterson Rosa (BRA); Toby Martin (AUS)
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS); Darren O’Rafferty (AUS); David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 13: Cory Lopez (USA); Paulo Moura (BRA); Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 14: C.J. Hobgood (USA); Troy Brooks (AUS); Jarrad Howse (AUS)
Heat 15: Shaun Cansdell (AUS); Marcelo Nunes (BRA); Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 16: Trent Munro (AUS); Roy Powers (USA); Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Nova Schin Festival Fast Facts

Event Name:  Nova Schin Festival, presented by Billabong

Status: The Nova Schin Festival, presented by Billabong is the 10th of 11stops on the 2006 Foster’s  ASP World Tour and is South America’s sole top tier tour event.  The Foster's ASP World Tour crowns the men’s professional surfing world champion.

Location: The Nova Schin Festival, presented by Billabong will be staged in Imbituba a punchy beach break offering left and right breaking waves. It is open to swell and regularly serves up quality waves.

Field: The Nova Schin Festival, presented by Billabong will feature 45 of the world’s top touring professional male surfers and three event wildcards adding up to a total field of 48.

Duration: A total of four full days of competition is required to finalize the event but the tournament features a waiting period designed to capture the best possible conditions from October 30 through to November 15.

Format: 16 x three man non-elimination round one heats (1st>Rnd 3, 2nd & 3rd>Rnd
2). Round two onwards features man-on-man elimination heats.

Ratings points: The winner receives 1200 Foster's ASP World Tour ratings points.

Defending Champion: Damien Hobgood (USA) will be back to defend his crown after having a solid 2006 season. The likeable goofyfooter from Florida has claimed one win this year in Fiji and will be looking to finish with another victory here in Imbituba. He is currently ranked No. 7 in the world.

Contest Director: Recently retired Flavio Padaratz is one of the most successful surfers to emerge from Brazil. His list of triumphs include three Top 10 finishes on surfing's elite tour as well as two World Qualifying Series titles (1992 and '99).

Comments (0)

Leave a reply